Press "Enter" to skip to content

Wilson Added to Ray Guy Award Watch List

DURHAM, NC – Duke redshirt freshman Porter Wilson added to the watch list for the Ray Guy award, presented by the Augusta Sports Council.

The award honors the nation's best college gambler.

Wilson, a 6-5, 225-pound, Fairlawn, Ohio native, took over the punt duties for Duke in 2020 after the departure of all-ACC specialist Austin Parker . So far this season, Wilson has punted 24 times for 1,049 yards for an average of 43.71 yards. His first career punt against Notre Dame was 60 yards, while nine of his boots were knocked down within the 20 yard against zero touchbacks.

Against Virginia Tech, Wilson punched a season high nine times for 409 yards (45.44) with four 50-plus-yard boots, including a 63-yard kick all season. The 63-yard effort resulted in a Duke touchdown when the punt was silenced and the ball was eventually recovered by Jaylen Stinson from Duke in the end zone. Wilson had two punts within Hokie's 10-yard line (1 and 6 yards, respectively) and had only two returned punts for a combined minus 18 yards.

Wilson is currently fourth in the ACC in punts over 50 yards with six, and is tied for first in the league with Boston College's Grant Carlson as the only two punters to rank in the top 10 in the league on average. punts with more than six boots against zero touchbacks.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Ray Guy, a native of Thomson, Georgia and a member of the College and Professional Football Hall of Fame. The winner of the Ray Guy Award is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and previous Ray Guy Award winners.

In early November, the Ray Guy award committee will meet to select 10 semi-finalists. , to be announced on November 29. A national body of sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and past Ray Guy Award winners from the Football Bowl Subdivision will vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on December 7. After the finalists are named, the voting body will re-cast their votes to select the best bettor in the nation. The winner will be announced live during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on a date to be determined later.

About the Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Ray Guy, a native of Thomson, Georgia and a member of the College and Professional Football Hall of Fame. Among the statistics used to identify the winner are the average net punt, the number of times the punt is knocked down or kicked out of bounds within the opponent's 20-yard line, total yards cleared, average yards returned and the percentage of punts not returned with special emphasis on average net punts. The winner must show team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team's success.

Current watchlist nominees
Issac Power Baylor
Matt Naranjo Bowling Green
Will Spires Clemson
Myles Prosser Coastal Carolina
Porter Wilson Duke
Tommy Heatherly FIU
Matthew Hayball Florida Atlantic University
Anthony Beck II Georgia South
Pressley Harvin III Georgia Tech
Blake Hayes Illinois
Joe Rivera Iowa State
Kyle Thompson Kansas
Rhys Byrns Louisiana
Zach Von Rosenberg LSU
Lou Hedley Miami
Kyle Ulbrich Middle Tennessee
Daniel Davies Navy
State of Trenton Gill NC
Jay Bramblett Notre Dame
Drue Chrisman State of Ohio
Tom Hutton State of Oklahoma
Kirk Christodoulou Pitt
Adam Korsak Rutgers
Nolan Cooney Syracuse
Nik Constantinou Texas A&M
Austin McNamara Texas Tech
Lachlan Wilson Tulsa
Jake Camarda UGA
James Smith University of Cincinnati
Max Duffy University of Kentucky
Adam Williams University of Memphis
Ben Kiernan University of North Carolina
Jack Brooks University of South Alabama
Trent Schneider University of South Florida
Paxton Brooks University of Tennessee
Ryan Bujcevski University of Texas
Lucas Dean UTSA
Nash Griffin Virginia
Oscar Bradburn Virginia Tech
Ivan Mora Wake Forest
John Haggerty Western Kentucky


Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *