Press "Enter" to skip to content

U of A Junior selected as a finalist for the Harry S. Truman Scholarship

U of A, Coleman Warren has been selected as a finalist for the Harry S. Truman Scholarship 2021. Your selection places you among the best students dedicated to the career of public service in the country.

Warren, a native of Fayetteville, majored in industrial engineering with honors at the College of Engineering and majored in political science with honors at the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences. He is interested in the problems of hunger and food insecurity in Arkansas and eventually plans to run for office in the state.

"I am extremely grateful for this opportunity," Warren said. “Getting to this point in the process would not have been possible without the encouragement and direct support of all the wonderful and talented people in my life. For me, the Truman Scholarship is an opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of the issues Arkansans face and how we can build a better future in this state. ”

With an interest in food insecurity, Warren has served as an AmeriCorps VISTA Summer Associate at Heartland Food Bank in Omaha, Nebraska. He also started an artisan ice cream business. By donating 35 percent of its profits to charities (with the goal of donating 100 percent as soon as the business is fully up and running), the new business has already provided more than 15,000 meals to the local community through partnerships with local food banks.

Warren has also been active in the Associated Student Government, the Volunteer Action Center, the Distinguished Conference Committee, and the college's Student Alumni Board.

"I am pleased that Coleman Warren has been selected as a Truman finalist," said Chancellor Charles Robinson. "And I wish him all the best in his interview with the Truman Foundation this week. Coleman certainly deserves this national recognition. Truman finalists are known as agents of change, and Coleman's commitment to public service is evident. As the newly elected Associate Student Government President, he has made clear his desire to help shape change on our campus, and his interests in serving extend beyond campus. He is dedicated to making a difference in our state. I look forward to working. with Coleman this year in his role as President of ASG and read about his service to Arkansas for years to come. "

Truman Scholars are selected based on a commitment to a career in public service and receive $ 30,000 in scholarship funds to attend graduate or professional school. The application process is rigorous and requires more than 50 hours to complete. This year, 845 students from 328 colleges and universities across the country applied for the Truman Scholarships. Finalists demonstrate outstanding leadership, public service, and academic achievement. Of those applicants, 60 fellows will be selected from the finalists and announced in mid-April.

"The overwhelming interest in public service from applicants this year is inspiring," said Terry Babcock-Lumish, executive secretary of the Truman Foundation and 1996 Truman Fellow of Pennsylvania. “This past year tested our nation with a deadly pandemic, an economic crisis, and a renewed call to address climate change and racial injustice. While these are difficult times, Americans can take comfort that a generation of young, action-oriented leaders is already addressing today's challenges with a view to improving the world of tomorrow. "

Warren will meet with him. Truman Scholarship Nashville Scholarship Committee All Truman finalists will be interviewed online this year for the second time in the history of the Truman Foundation to Mitigate the Spread of COVID-19.

“Coleman is seeking degrees from honors in the College of Engineering (BS) and Fulbright College (BA). That is an ambitious goal, and he has performed flawlessly in both, "said Kim Needy, Dean of the College of Engineering," and all while serving as a leader on campus and in the community. He has created his own business, Simple and Sweet Ice Cream, to fund meals for hungry families in Arkansas, and this is just the beginning for him. All my experiences with Coleman, in my leadership class, with the university and with campus service, they indicate that he will be an extraordinary leader in this state and beyond. ”

Interested U of A students Applicants for the Truman Scholarship should contact the Office of National Competitive Awards at

About U of A Truman Scholars: The University of Arkansas has produced 24 Truman Scholars, more than any other university in the Southeast Conference. In 2002, the University of Arkansas was named the Truman Scholarship Honors Institution for students' commitment to service and their history with the Truman Scholarship Program. Since 2012, ten U of A students have been named Truman Scholars. Recent scholars include: Samia Ismail, Biomedical Engineering, 2019; Ryann Alonso, political science and communication, and Sam Harris, agricultural company, 2017; Victoria Maloch, agricultural company and Danielle Neighbor, civil engineering, 2016; Grant Addison, History and Political Science, 2015; Cicely Shannon, economics, 2014; Nathan Coulter, Political Science, 2013; and Mike Norton, Agricultural Business and Poultry Science, 2012.

About the University of Arkansas: As Arkansas' flagship institution, U of A offers an internationally competitive education in more than 200 academic programs. Founded in 1871, the U of A contributes more than $ 2.2 billion to the Arkansas economy through teaching new knowledge and skills, entrepreneurship and job development, discovery through research and activity. creative and, at the same time, provides training for professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation ranks U of A in the top 3% of US colleges and universities with the highest level of research activity. US News & World Report ranks U of A among the best public universities in the nation. See how the U of A works to build a better world in Arkansas Research News.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *