Press "Enter" to skip to content

Fulbright College Announces 2020 Winners of the King, Nolan, and OMNI Awards

The Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas has selected the 2020 recipients of several of its most faculty awards prestigious, including:

"Now more than ever it is a great pleasure to be able to recognize these incredible faculty members who have dedicated their careers to making our college, university and the world a better place," he said. Todd Shields, dean of Fulbright. College. "On behalf of the entire university, I would like to thank you for your service and especially for all you do to help our students succeed. These people are incredibly inspiring!"

The John Prize E. King for Outstanding Service

Fulbright College faculty members proposed and awarded the John E. King Award for Outstanding Service to recognize colleagues who exhibit exemplary service to campus and community . They named the award for King, a professor of social work, as a tribute to his "extraordinary leadership and ethics and record of good works"

Receiver Daniel Sutherland's main area of ​​research is 19th century America. He has written 10 books and edited five others, in addition to publishing more than 70 book chapters and articles in popular and academic journals. Sutherland has received more than 50 honors, awards, and research scholarships, and five of his books have been selected by the History Book Club. Sutherland arrived at the University of Arkansas in 1989, and in 2011 earned the rank of Distinguished Professor.

"His long career has been marked by excellence in every part of the academic triad of teaching, research, and service," said James J. Gigantino II, chair of the Department of History, who nominated him. "Above all, Sutherland is an active servant in his particular field and our profession, deserving of recognition for decades of selfless service to Fulbright College and the profession in general."

Gigantino said Sutherland previously served as chair of the history department, co-chairs Hartman-Hotz's series of lectures in partnership with the Law School, serves on the history department's diversity committee, on the academic honesty committee of the university, is editor of the Civil War Series at the University of Arkansas Press, and is actively involved with numerous national organizations, including the Society of Civil War Historians.

The Nolan College Award

The Nolan College Award was presented by the William C. Foundation and Theodosia Murphy Nolan to support the professional advancement of faculty members who provide research and the highest quality teaching service to the university.

The main research areas of recipient Kevin Fitzpatrick include food insecurity and access to food, health and well-being, the community, homelessness, and adolescent risk-taking behavior. He has written six books, numerous book chapters, and dozens of referred magazine articles. He has also received dozens of grants and awards since joining the University of Arkansas in 2005 as the Bernice Jones Chair of Community. In 2015 he obtained the rank of university professor, and served as director of the Institute of Community and Family since 2007.

"Dr. Fitzpatrick has been a model of a graduate educator, demonstrating excellence and dedication to his students," said Shauna A. Morimoto, associate professor and vice president of the Department of Sociology and Criminology, who nominated him. "He also nurtures and advocates for his students and knows how to foster a sense of accomplishment and confidence in them. His impact on promoting graduate students' professional careers cannot be overstated."

Morimoto said it is especially remarkable how many of Fitzpatrick's master's students earn their doctorates. in some of the most prestigious universities. Fitzpatrick is also known for engaging his students in numerous publications, with many becoming co-authors of his community reports, infographics, and more than 40 community fact sheets. In addition, it engages graduate students in its community-based research projects, which include multi-year partnerships with local school districts to assess health, nutrition, and food insecurity among the most marginalized youth.

OMNI Keeling / Hansen Climate Science Award

The OMNI Keeling / Hansen Climate Science Award was created to "promote successful research in climate science by faculty and students of Fulbright College to develop knowledge of the causes and impacts of global climate change, and to develop tangible solutions to mitigate global climate change and its deleterious effects on humanity and global ecosystems. "

Receiver Ben Vining heads the university's Environmental Archeology Laboratory, which focuses on reconstructing the dynamics of human-environmental interactions that affected archaeological societies in the Holocene. The lab is dedicated to facilitating integrative and multidisciplinary research to investigate how groups responded to past physical climatic variability, and also how ecological strategies employed by archaeological societies created lasting anthropogenic change.

The laboratory's main research area is in the Peruvian Andes and other regions of Latin America, but previous research has also been conducted in the Mediterranean, the Near East, and East and Southeast Asia.

"We are excited to select Ben Vining as the OMNI Keeling / Hansen Climate Science 2020 winner," said Peter Ungar, distinguished professor in the Department of Anthropology and director of the Environmental Dynamics Program (ENDY) . "Dr. Vining is an archaeologist who regularly publishes on the dynamics of human-environmental interactions that affected past cultures. His work focuses on both how people of the past responded to climate variability and how past societies changed its local environments. It is also committed to environmental education at the highest level, training ENDY PhD students and teaching the ENDY basic course, Society and Environment ".

OMNI Center Prize for the Faculty of Justice and World Peace

The OMNI Center Faculty Prize for World Peace and Justice was created to "promote the study and teaching of peace and nonviolence "

Receiver Toni Jensen teaches fiction writing, creative nonfiction writing, and Native American literature. She is the author of From the Hilltop, a collection of linked stories published through the Native Storiers series at the University of Nebraska Press. His fiction has appeared in Stories from the South: The Year's Best, 2007; Best of the West: Stories from the Missouri Wide Side, 2011; and Denver Quarterly among others.

Drawing on the oral traditions of American Indians and his own Métis upbringing, Jensen tells stories that mix many lives and voices to offer fleeting perspectives in a world that reconfigures the tragedy and disconnect often found in narratives of the life of American Indians. The souls who populate Jensen's stories find tentative connections to the past, the future, to each other, and ultimately to the reader.

"Toni's highly individual voice substantially enriches the diversity of our department, and the vital importance of that voice cannot be applauded enough," said William A. Quinn, chair of the English Department, who nominated her. "Toni is an indefatigable activist for human rights and ecological sanity"

Quinn said Jensen's highly personal ideas about America's arms culture have "poignant local relevance and national significance. His it is heroically nonviolent activism "

She added that Jensen has been particularly effective in" opposing corporate exploitation of Native American land. She is an advocate for peace and sustainability. "

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *